Completing a discharge note in the Rula provider portal

Completing and submitting a discharge note allows you to move clients from “active” to “inactive” to conclude your therapeutic relationship, removing them from your caseload.

  • Active clients  - there’s an initial appointment or follow up appointment scheduled in the future, or there’s been a completed therapy appointment within the past 90 days.
  • Inactive clients - do not meet the “Active” criteria and/or have been rematched, or for whom there’s been a discharge note submitted via the provider portal.

Active and inactive clients are currently reflected in the client roster, scheduling and messaging surfaces in the provider portal.

Guided Steps

To discharge a client from your caseload, you'll need to submit a discharge note in the provider portal. To do this:

  1. Log into the provider portal
  2. Click on the Clients tab, located on the menu on the left side of the page.
  3. Select the client you would like to discharge
  4. Click Notes & Documents
  5. Click Add Note
  6. Select Discharge note from the drop down and click Add note
  7. Fill out the template
    Untitled design (44).png
  8. Click Sign note
  9. Confirm your electronic signature, then click Sign and submit note

Once the note is submitted, it cannot be edited. The discharge note will appear on the client's chart and all future appointments with them will be canceled.

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful